Moving Away From Home

Hello everyone. Yes, I know, I have been a lazy git for the past few days, nothing has really gone up here and my twitter looks as empty as Danny Alexander’s head, but things have been interesting here. So, today is not going to be any kind of big story, at the moment I just have too much on my mind and too much to do. For those of you who didn’t figure it out by the title, I am moving away from home in less than two weeks, roughly 10 days as a matter of fact. And this is kind of scaring me just now.

Now, I’m 19 years old, going into third year of university and leaving home for the first time, and I am well aware that many students do live away from home during their term times, but they then return at the end of each term to their home. I however won’t be doing that, instead I will be leaving home, most likely for good, to live with a flatmate, and friend I have known for many years, living off my own money and essentially being fully independent.

This was something that really quite excited me when I first began talking about it with my friend back at the start of this year, when we went view flats it was a real thrill about the idea that we could be living in this new place. And when my friend, who I should point out has lived away from home for the past two years now, informed me that we had got a flat in a good area, I was over the moon.

Now don’t get me wrong, I am still looking forward to moving away, living in a new place and independent from my family, but it is only recently that the enormity of what I am about to do is hitting me. I have been working on packing things up for the past few days, clothes being washed and bagged, books sorted and into boxes, etc. And as I was trying to decide which books, DVDs and things to take with me, I realised that this really is it. In a way, it’s like the end of an era. For my entire life, the past 19 years, I have lived at home with my family, upon whom I could count for support, care and generally just to be there.

I will be honest, the idea of complete financial independence, of living away from my family on a long term basis for the first time, of leaving so much behind and stepping straight out in to the world so abruptly does scare the hell out of me. But at the same time, I am looking forward to it, and I think I’m ready for it. I want to be able to stand on my own two feet, to make my own decisions, to make mistakes and learn from them, but it’s not something that is going to be easy to do.

So, if you’re wondering, that’s why I have been a little… non-existent for the past few days, I have had a lot of packing and a lot of stuff to start organising. I’ve even had to take down all of my posters, my room feels so naked right now. Anyway, a bit of a personal post today, I will try and chuck another few posts up before things get really crazy. But as usual, thanks for reading.

Get Involved in the Debate!

